Posted in Family Life, Products, Review

Real Nappy Week 2017 – Can I use Cloth Nappies on Holiday

Holidays abroad are not really our family thing, in fact we usually settle for a nice lodge somewhere in the British countryside. So when my husband’s family suggested a big family holiday to Menorca I knew there would be some challenges. The biggest one in my mind was nappies for Willem, who would be nearly two at the time of the holiday. Oh yes and the fact I was expecting again so we would be taking a newborn with us, who will also need nappies. I was also told there was no guarantee I would have access to a washing machine, great! Now I love my cloth bums and although I am not against disposables just think about how many cute photo’s I can get of them on holiday with a pretty nappies on. So I started looking at my choices.

gnappiesI already used gNappies with a gCloth for Willem, in fact they are the only ones his nursery have managed to get on with, but I had never tried the disposable inserts. This looked like a good option so I did some research to see what people thought. The power of Facebook is amazing and there are several cloth nappy groups around, including a few designed just for gNappy fans so I joined them and asked my questions. I got mixed reviews but overall most people though it was a good combination, especially for holiday. One person even explained that when she went away she would just hand wash the pants and pouch and because of there design they dried super quick. This was great as it meant I didn’t have to overstock. I searched around for some bargains but soon learnt that most of them sell pre-loved for near new price so in fact buying new wasn’t really an issue cost wise.

I did my sums and bought one pack of Medium to Large disposables for Willem, as he would be in the pool most of the time and didn’t need as many nappies as his sister, and our new gPants as he already had four and he didn’t really need any more but I couldn’t help myself. I brought Persephonie two packs of small disposables, although I didn’t think she would need them all it’s better to have too many than too little, and she ended up with nine gPants which was plenty. I put one of each pack of disposables in each hand luggage bag to spread the weight, although they weren’t really heavy and with the pants packed was ready to go. I had also put some in my handbag for the flight, and a clever tip I learnt: get a zip lock food bag to put your nappies in. I had two, one each, with spare pants, spare pouch and spare disposable inserts. This worked great on the aeroplane. No need for searching through my bag in the small toilet, just grap the bag and it’s all together. We also used this trick with spare clothes

So what were the results…

Practicality20150620_085805 (800x450)

We all found the system easy to use, especially seeing as many places didn’t have a changing table so we had to do a lot of fast changes on the toilet lid or floor, with a changing mat of course. Even my mother in law worked them out straight away, although she had to check every time that she had put the pants on the right way round. They were great for my daughter to just lounge around in to help keep her cool. They also worked as a great addition to an outfit for her, I admit to buying certain tops to match her nappies.

Reliability

There were a few leaks, but on both occasions my son had spent most of the day in the pool and drank a lot of drinks in the evening, so I believe it was just his vast amount of fluid intake. We had no leaks with my daughters nappies. They were both at time in my Boba Wrap and our Rose & Rebellion carrier and we had no compression leaks.

Containment

My son does not react well to heat it gives him diarrhoea, but I was pleased at how well his nappy and especially the pouch kept it all in. No need for clothes changes with his gNappies. My daughter being 8 weeks old still has wet poo and again not once did it leak, we had the occasional pants change but no need for an outfit change.

Night Time

This was a big one for me as my son wears a two piece bamboo nappy with a charcoal boost to bed and still on occasion leaks. However I was very surprised that the system work great at night time for him, and lasted the whole night. My daughter was the same no issue with her nappy lasting the night. Please note: By night I mean 10pm until 6am, my children don’t do lay-ins no matter how late they go bed!

matchingCuteness

Well it wouldn’t be about cloth nappies if I didn’t say how cute they were. I love that we had matching sets but unfortunately my son doesn’t stay still enough for a cute photo, but I did manage one photo.

Overall

I was really pleased with the system and I actually carried on using it once back at home with left over inserts I had. A few weeks on my little girl is still using her gNappies, with a cloth insert, on a daily basis as she is now too big for her newborn nappies but not big enough for her birth to potty ones. I am also now looking at getting some mediums so that I don’t have to wait for her to grow in to her brothers larges. I think my only real disappointment was that I had no where to compost my wet inserts which I feel is one of the great benefits of the gNappy disposable system compared to many other. I will defiantly be using the system again.

sleeping gnappy

This blog was originally posted on my Nurturing Knowledge website in 2015
Leave a Reply

