Posted in Family Life, Review

Real Nappy Week: Why Do I Use Cloth?

Good question,

I’ll be honest but I don’t really know the original reason to why I decided I wanted to use cloth nappies. It was always something I had wanted to do when I had children, it just seemed to make sense in my head. So when I fell pregnant with my first I was pleased to be gifted a birth to potty set. However, since my journey with cloth nappies began, there have been a number of reason to why.

Cost

OK, there is no denying that long term cloth nappies save you money. I am about to welcome my fourth baby and some of the nappies that they will wear my first baby wore.  In theory I must be saving loads of money by not having 4 children in disposables. In reality I have a little bit of an addiction and have owned far too many nappies at some points so probably not saved myself loads. However, I don’t have the weekly expense of nappies in my shopping budget and when bump has finished with them I will put the majority of them on the resale market and get some of my investment back.

Environment

I have always been conscious of the environment and try my best to help support it. However, it wasn’t until I had children that I became more active in this. In our first summer of having Roran we used a mixture of reusable and disposable nappies and I was shocked at how much my bin was filling up. Then with more research and especially Real Nappy Week I was even more shocked to find out how long disposables take to decompose, how many just sit in landfill and how many I can cut out by going full time cloth. Those figures were enough for me to make the complete change. More can be found here.

Skin

Roran had eczema as a baby and I became concerned with what product I could put on his sensitive skin. So it made sense to me that in an area so sensitive that regularly got wet and dirty throughout the day he would need comfort, and although many disposables offered that, to me, cloth seemed the comfiest option. Willem was my first organic clothes baby, mainly as they fitted better with his nappy but I soon started to realise that everything that went on my childrens’ skin was important.

Cuteness

Well sorry there is not much cuter than and little baby in a squishy nappy. I have also found a new love for how cute nappies can be now I have a little girl and she wears dresses. I particularly find the gNappies block colours go great with Maxomorra dresses.

Do you use cloth nappies? Why?

rnw

Leave a Reply

