Posted in Family Life

The 48 hour week

Last weekend the boys were came down with a bug, this lead to a long week in our house.

Saturday

Roran started off with a little bit of diarrhoea, and I mean a little bit! We had been to a party and I just thought it was a mixture of too much excitement and rubbishy food. SO we packed him off to bed and thought nothing of it. That night Willem joined us in bed and announced he had been sick in the toilet.

Sunday

My ‘lie in’ and it consisted of me listen to Rob explain to Willem of you need to pump go to the toilet. By the time had come downstairs Willem had already had several ‘pump’ accidents and it was obvious we had a bug.  So it was decided that instead of our planned trip to the woods we would have a chilled day at home.

Monday

No school or nursery as we are in 48 hour quarantine. So I had all 3 children at home by myself, and despite them being ‘poorly’ they were not ill at all! This was a sign of what was to come – argument about who had been on the tablet the longest, who’s turn it was to pick what we watch, who got the toys and didn’t put them away. Added to this I had no food in the house and with my 3 that is a rookie mistake. I did make a quick dash to the shop for some fruit and snacks so that I didn’t have the constant ‘I’m hungry’. That night I was pleased to go to work, but a little annoyed all 3 for the first time in weeks were actually asleep by 7pm. After a stressful day I enjoyed some mindful mediation at my MummyNatal class and looked forward to heading home. Only to have a bump in my husbands car and spend the night awaiting the recovery vehicle. That night Roran came in to tell us he had been sick and was sick again several times in the early hours.

Tuesday

Roran was back to square one 48 hours off and was fine, the day followed a similar pattern of arguments and disagreements between the boys. Worse still I ran out coffee by mid morning and forgot to add it to my Tesco order.

Wednesday

Thank god today Persephonie, who has showed no signs of the bug, is at nursery. I decided not to send Willem as he still had diarrhoea the last few days. I however had work so my mother in law came over for a few hours and also Tesco delivered. However not only did I forget my coffee but not chocolate or shampoo or conditioner either.

Thursday

So today Roran goes back to school, yay, NO! He was sick again all night. Not happy about this at all and I’m am now too tired to listen to the arguments. The tablet has been banned as we17078668_10154934745821221_979052638_nll as several shows. We spent the morning doing activity books and drawing, I even had 5 minutes to check my emails before Persephonie spotted my laptop. By the afternoon they were bored and despite having this bug the boys didn’t feel the need to rest or nap. As it was nice outside they had a run around the garden and some well needed fresh air. Willem has been clear for 48 hours and I arranged for Roran to go to my mums in the morning so Willem can have his swimming lesson. Persephonie has nursery.

Friday

My plans were short lived, Willem was sick again all night!  So I packed Persephonie off to nursery and settled in for another day of cabin fever. No tablet still, but we did agree on a film to watch which kept the boys occupied enough for me to tidy the kitc17204539_10154934746176221_1265823762_nhen and do a little bit of work. After that I headed to Starbucks, we have a drive thru so I can grab my coffee and go. No need to take the germy children inside and share with others. This coffee was good, my first in a few days and very well deserved I think. The afternoon was calmer but I made the mistake of allowing the children some time in their rooms alone, and it looked like a pit. So tiding up and tears happened before bedtime. I did have the luxury of my sister dropping off some shampoo and conditioner so I got to wash my hair properly, which was amazing. The children went down early (before 7.30) so Rob and me sat down to watch a film.

Saturday

Rob let me lay in and it was good, I have been so tired and also struggling with back ache and braxton hicks. No one was sick last night but we felt it best not to take Roran swimming. Today felt a little bit back to normal and both boys have some colour. I can’t be 100% sure but I think we may have got past it. Fingers crossed.

 

Leave a Reply

